Diary

I remember my sister wasn’t home. I don’t remember where she was or really how old we were when it happened. I remember I could read which isn’t saying much because we could all pretty much read at an early age. I am going to guess I was in the 5th or 6th grade, maybe 11 or 12 years old and my sister was about 16 or 17 years old which would be a sophomore or junior in High School. But the diary wasn’t dated so it could have happened at an earlier time but I am thinking not too much earlier as she didn’t have four or five diaries hanging around just the one.

I snuck in her room a lot.

One time I was messing with the radio just making it go up and down up and down pretty rapidly. And then, to my surprise, it just broke. Mom yelled at me but my sister wasn’t mad at me. I couldn’t really understand why. She never really got mad at me for pretty much anything. Like the time I broke her Sun Tea Jar. The lid just slipped and broke into a thousand pieces. Again mom got mad at me. I guess my sister figured I got yelled at enough and didn’t put much more into it. My other sister would.

Anyway, I was reading my sister’s diary. There wasn’t anything intimate in there or anything juicy. Just that she was roller skating (at a roller skating party?) and talking to this group of people. They were having this nice conversation, talking pretty much about anything.  She was noticing how certain people would use these cool words. As if she couldn’t believe she was hanging out with the popular crowd. She really seemed to like the people she was with.  She seemed to be having a good time roller skating and just talking to this group of people using these strange, hip words. I really can’t remember what the words were but they must have been hip for their time. Bogus.  She was exploring all the ways Bogus could be use and how to use it the right way. This is bogus and that is not bogus but this could really be bogus. Bogus, Bogus, Bogus!

That was the most interesting part of the diary. I couldn’t find anything more. I had all the time in the world to look through everything but I couldn’t find anything. My sister was out working, my other sister was probably out on her bike to McDonald’s and Mom was probably sleeping. Dad was either away working or at a bar. I have a diary where is the juicy details? Nothing! Not one thing! So, I put the diary away where I found it and found something else to do.

Leave a Reply

