Least favorite teacher

Going to Western Michigan University, shoot even just elementary to high school, I have come across a lot of different teachers. Some were better than others all the while some were even more inspiring than others. I am guilty of liking some subjects more than others which could influence how much I like a teacher or other. I have always liked choir, PE and English.  Art wasn’t bad. Psychology and Health class seemed interesting.  Math and science I never really liked too much and it showed with a good C throughout having to take those classes.

There were two major classes that I needed for two separate majors. Aural Comprehension for a minor in Music and I needed Coding for a web designer degree I later took at Kalamazoo Valley Community College.  I put these two subjects together as they had a lot in common with two totally different teachers I couldn’t figure out how to learn from.  I don’t know if they just didn’t teach the class or they were both weeder classes to pull out who really wanted to learn or who was really ready to do those subjects before going on. One gave me an F and the other gave me an A.  The Aural Comprehension guy gave me an F while the Coding guy gave me an A. I had no idea what I was doing in either class. I wanted to graduate WMU so I settled for a Major in Communications and a minor in Journalism.  The coding class was like drawing I just didn’t think I could do it. Both classes I could probably learn on my own but then why go to college if that is what you are going to do?

The classes seemed like it was sink or swim. No tips or tricks on personal experiences were to be had. Just a flood of information and no step by step instructions specifically saying what to do. Even when I had the outside personal assistant try to teach me aural comprehension she couldn’t figure out how to teach the class either. When the other two students got it pretty much towards the end of the class period they couldn’t say how they learned either. Somehow they just knew. I have no idea on how to teach myself aural comprehension except to keep learning my instruments (piano and guitar) and to go on www.good-ear.com I have been meaning to read books on the subject but never really got around to it.

Coding is different. It is right up there with Math and Science. I don’t think it is something I want to go further into. It seems fun to be able to tell the computer what to do but not really necessary. I signed up for a class called skill crusher but never really got into it. It was started by a liberal arts major looking to make more money. She couldn’t believe what a simple and valuable skill coding was. I still don’t understand it.

Leave a Reply

